News & Events

NATAS announces 71st annual Technology & Engineering EMMY Award winners

The 71st annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards by National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) will take place in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) on April 19 this year. NATAS is a non-profit service organisation dedicated to the advancement and promotion of the arts and sciences of television.

The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards are given to living individuals, companies, or a scientific or technical organisations for developments and/or standardisation involved in engineering technologies that either represent extensive improvement on existing methods or innovative in nature that they materially have affected the television industry.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949 and it laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come,” said Adam Sharp, CEO & president, NATAS.

A committee of highly qualified engineers and experts from the broadcasting industry has factored in various technical developments in the industry to determine the award as follow:

2019 Technical / Engineering Achievement Awards

  • Pioneering System for Live Performance-Based Animation Using Facial Recognition
    • Adobe
  • HTML5 Development and Deployment of a Full TV Experience on Any Device
    • Apple
    • Google
    • LG
    • Microsoft
    • Mozilla
    • Opera
    • Samsung
  • Pioneering Public Cloud Based linear Media Supply Chains
    • AWS
    • Discovery
    • Evertz
    • FOX Neo (Walt Disney Television)
    • SDVI
  • Pioneering Development of Large Scale, Cloud Served, Broadcast Quality, Linear Channel Transmission to Consumers
    • Sling TV
    • Sony PlayStation Vue
    • Zattoo
  • Early Development of HSM Systems that Created a Pivotal Improvement in Broadcast Workflows
    • Dell (Isilon)
    • IBM
    • Masstech
    • Quantum
  • Pioneering Development and Deployment of Hybrid Fiber Coax Network Architecture
    • Cable Labs
  • Pioneering Development of the CCD Image Sensor
    • Bell Labs
    • Michael Tompsett
  • VoCIP (Video over Bonded Cellular Internet)
    • AVI WEST
    • Dejero
    • LiveU
    • TVU Networks
  • Ultra-High Sensitivity HDTV Camera
    • Canon
    • Flovel
  • Development of Synchronized multi-channel uncompressed audio transport over IP Networks
    • ALC NetworX
    • Audinate
    • Audio Engineering Society
    • Kevin Gross
    • QSC
    • Telos Alliance
    • Wheatstone

Sharp concluded: “We are especially excited to be honouring Yvette Kanouff with our Lifetime Achievement Award in Technology & Engineering. We are also extremely happy about honouring these prestigious companies at our gala, again at NAB Show, where the intersection of innovation, technology and excitement in the future of television can be found.”


Related Articles

Back to top button

Subscribe to the latest news now!