News & Events

SMPTE makes key appointments

New leadership board will lead standards organisation into its second century

The Society of Motion Pictures and Television Engineers’ (SMPTE) board of governors has appointed John E Ferder as the organisation’s new secretary/treasurer.

Ferder replaces Peter Wharton, who is now SMPTE’s membership vice-president. In his new role, Wharton has appointed two new SMPTE membership directors for 2018. They are John Maizels, who will serve as membership director for international sections, and Herbert Jay Dunmore, who is membership director for student chapters and educational institutions.

Bruce Devlin, SMPTE’s standards vice-president, has also nominated John Snow, Dave Schnuelle and John Hurst to serve as standards directors.

Matthew Goldman, president of SMPTE and senior vice-president of technology, TV and media, Ericsson, concluded: “The SMPTE directors for 2018 reflect the society’s commitment to providing the motion-imaging industry — students and professionals working worldwide — with timely, thoughtful and engaging educational opportunities, programming, and standards and recommendations.

“The remarkable experience and dedication of our incoming directors will fuel the society’s ongoing success in expanding its reach and in shaping the industry’s future.”


Related Articles

Back to top button

Subscribe to the latest news now!